Get ‘Em Before They’re Got!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Vagabonds Expanded Edition

Gary Louris
Vagabonds Expanded Edition


Be the first to review this product

Pre-order sold out. Get ‘em at your local record store
This product can also be purchased in 387 of our stores.

Config/Selection: A / ROGV-035
Units per set: 2
UPC # 081227930790

GARY LOURIS “VAGABONDS EXPANDED EDITION” Limited and numbered to XXXX LPs. We expect Gary Louris to ship around September 14th.

Gary Louris is an American guitarist, singer and songwriter. He was founding member of the Minneapolis-based band The Jayhawks and their principal songwriter and vocalist after the departure of Mark Olson. He eventually was responsible for moving the band from folk-country towards a more progressive, pop sound. Gary was born in Toledo and took piano lessons before becoming a guitarist in his teen years. The Jayhawks were formed in 1985 in Minneapolis and appeared on Letterman in 2003, performing “Save It For A Rainy Day,” off their Rainy Day Music album. The Jayhawks recorded seven albums for Columbia before going on hiatus in 2005. The band briefly reunited in 2011 for a new album and tour but Olson left again in 2012 and the band went on their 2nd hiatus. Louris is also a member of the intermittent Midwest collective, Golden Smog that recorded two albums on Rykodisc and two albums on Lost Highway from 1995 to 2007. Gary co-wrote the song “Jealous of Moon” with Chris Thile in 2005 and it appeared on the Nickel Creek album, “Why Should The Fire Die?” Louris also wrote songs for the 2008 Dixie Chicks album “Taking The Long Way.” In 2008, Gary released his first solo album. “Vagabonds,” on Rykodisc. The album was produced by Black Crowes frontman Chris Robinson. In an interview, Louris was quoted as saying,” It wasn’t my intention to recapture the ‘70s or anything, that’s just what comes out when I sing….Once we got the band together for the sessions, it actually reminded me of how The Jayhawks were when we started out. The music is new and exciting for them, and it was good for me to feed off of that.” Vagabonds was recorded in Laurel Canyon, which is famous for being the center of the 1970s singer-songwriter scene. If this title is voted to win, ROG will expand the original album to include acoustic, demos and outtakes from the sessions with many making their debut to vinyl as well as several never having been released on any physical format.

Track Listing:
Side A
1 True Blue
2 Omaha Nights
3 To Die A Happy Man
4 She Only Calls Me On Sundays
5 We’ll Get By
Side B
1. Black Grass
2. I Wanna Get High
3. Vagabonds
4. D.C. Blues
5. Meandering
Side C
1. Three Too Many (outtake, iTunes bonus track, previously unavailable on any physical format)
2. Working Girl (Demo, iTunes bonus track, previously unavailable on any physical format)
3. Baby Let Me Take Care Of You (outtake, Amazon bonus track, previously unavailable on any physical format)
4. Fall Day (Demo, Amazon bonus track, previously unavailable on any physical format)
5. Girl in the Window (previously unreleased outtake)
Side D
1. True Blue (acoustic version)
2. Omaha Nights (acoustic version)
3. To Die A Happy Man (acoustic version)
4. She Only Calls Me on Sundays (acoustic version)
5. We’ll Get By (acoustic version)
6. Vagabonds (acoustic version)