Get ‘Em Before They’re Got!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Thank You, Rock Fans!!

Marshall Crenshaw
Thank You, Rock Fans!!


Be the first to review this product

This product can also be purchased in 389 of our stores.

Marshall Crenshaw shipped and is limited and numbered to 1155 LPs worldwide. Check our store locator for an independent record store near you that might still have stock.

Newly discovered unreleased recordings found in our vault from an incredible live performance on June 4th at the Keystone in San Francisco, CA, during the tour of his debut album in 1982. The audio was sourced from the original master analog reels, and mixed by Chris Stamey with lacquers cut at Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis. Marshall co-produced the album, wrote liner notes and provided never before seen photographs. Each LP was individually numbered and strictly limited based on pre-orders. The 180g black vinyl was pressed at Record Industry and comes in a gatefold tip-on Stoughton sleeve with an 11x11 insert that includes photos and information.

With roots in classic Soul, British Invasion and Rockabilly, Detroit native Marshall Crenshaw has forged a very original and melodic form of crafting songs over the past 35 plus years in the music business. In the early days, Marshall was compared to Buddy Holly often, due in part to his portrayal of the doomed rock icon in the 1987 film, La Bamba.”Although he was seen as a latter-day Buddy Holly at the outset, He soon proved too talented and original to be anyone but himself “—Quote from The Trouser Press. In addition to his original songs, that have been covered over the years by notable artists such as Ronnie Spector, Robert Gordon, the Gin Blossoms, America, Freedy Johnston, Bette Midler, Matthew Sweet & Susanna Hoffs to name a few, Marshall is an accomplished guitarist with a very jazz-oriented style of playing. Marshall launched his original trio in New York with his brother Robert on drums and Chris Donato on bass, recording “Something’s Gonna Happen” for Alan Betrock’s Shake Records in 1981.Soon afterwards, the trio was signed to Warner Bros. Records and his debut album, simply titled “Marshall Crenshaw,” was released in 1982 and included his biggest hit, “Someday Someway.” Robert Gordon took the song to #76 in 1981 and Crenshaw’s own version made #36 in 82. It would be Marshall’s only solo Billboard Top 40 Pop hit. On the Cash Box magazine chart the song went to #31 and reached #25 on Billboard’s Rock Tracks. The song, ‘Til I Hear It From You,” sung by the Gin Blossoms and co-written by Marshall , reached #11 on the US Billboard Hot 100 in 1996. Despite his 4 subsequent WB studio albums not including hits, Marshall continued to record in the 1990s and 2000s. “Better Back Off” from the MCA album, “Life’s Too Short,” reached #17 on Billboard’s Alternative Songs Chart. In the 2000s Marshall played guitar as a guest of the reunited MC5, growing up a fan of the band in Detroit. He penned the title track from the 2007 film, “Walk Hard” starring John C Reilly, with the song being nominated for a Golden Globe Award for Best Original Song in a movie. In 2011 he began hosting a radio show called The Bottomless Pit on WFUV in New York, featuring his vast collection of music. He is currently on a US tour this summer with Los Straight Jackets. Although Marshall has released many live albums throughout his career, this newly discovered unreleased performance found in Warner Music’s vault was recorded while he was touring in support of his debut release in 1982 and includes several songs seeing their first release on any format. To be co-produced by Marshall, who will supply unseen photographs and liner notes and to be mixed by Chris Stamey, this could be the next lovingly packaged ROG live document to provide a unique snapshot back to Marshall’s formative years as an artist and fill a hole in his recorded live legacy if voted in as ROG #7!

Track Listing:
Side A
1 Introduction/Brand New Lover
2 I’ll Do Anything
3 There She Goes Again
4 Move It
5 Mary Anne
6 Rockin’ Around NYC
Side B
1 Soldier of Love
2 Girls
3 Someday Someway
4 Gotta Lotta Livin’ To Do
5 Something’s Gonna Happen
6 Usual Thing
7 She Can’t Dance


    Juliana Hatfield