Get ‘Em Before They’re Got!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Down By The Old Mainstream

Golden Smog
Down By The Old Mainstream


Be the first to review this product

This product can also be purchased in <strong>401</strong> of our stores.

Golden Smog: Down By the Old Mainstream 1LP was the 12th fan voted title and 13th ROG release pressed on vinyl. Limited to only 1,755 LPs worldwide and delivered to stores in June 2018. Fans voted to have the LP pressed on a clear mixed colorway of yellow, red and black vinyl. If you missed out on the pre-order check our store locator to find an authorized Run Out Groove dealer near you.

Vinyl info:
Mastered for vinyl from the original source and pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Industry in the Netherlands. Comes in a gatefold tip-on Stoughton jacket.

Details about the record:
Out of print for 8 years , a lost classic from the 1990s that includes Jeff Tweedy of Wilco, Dan Murphy of Soul Asylum & Gary Louris of the Jayhawks sees its first repress on vinyl since its original pressing in 2010.

Info about the band:
Golden Smog is a Minneapolis-based, loosely connected inter-changeable group of musicians from notable bands comprising members of Wilco, Soul Asylum, The Replacements, The Jayhawks, Run Westy Run, Big Star and the Honeydogs. Since their inception in 1989, many members have come and gone, with the following musicians having appeared on all recordings: Kraig Johnson (Run Westy Run), Dan Murphy (Soul Asylum), Gary Louris (Jayhawks) and bassist Marc Perlman (Jayhawks). The group originally played in and around Minneapolis doing mainly cover song sets as a country-rock reaction to the punk and hardcore music that dominated the region. In 1995 they released their debut album, “Down By the Old Mainstream,” recorded at Pachyderm Recording Studio that was made up of mainly original material with a few covers. Drummer Chris Mars of the Replacements was gone by now and the line-up consisted of Johnson, Murphy, Louris, Perlman and two new members: Jeff Tweedy of Wilco and Honeydogs drummer Noah Levy. All members were credited under pseudonyms to avoid contractual issues with their other record companies.

Track Listing:
Side A
1. V
2. Ill Fated
3. Pecan Pie
4. Yesterday Cried
Side B
1. Glad & Sorry
2. Won’t Be Coming Home
3. He’s A Dick
Side C
1. Walk Where He Walked
2. Nowhere Bound
3. Friend
Side D
1. She Don’t Have To See You
2. Red Headed Stepchild
3. Williamton Angel
4. Radio King