Get ‘Em Before They’re Got!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image


The Fire Theft


Be the first to review this product

Pre-order sold out. Get 'em at your local record store
This product can also be purchased in 392 of our stores.

Config/Selection: A / ROGV-017

Units per set: 2


·       This is the worldwide debut of the The Fire Theft’s 2003 self-titled Rykodisc debut on vinyl and includes Jeremy Enigk, William Goldsmith & Nate Mendel from Sunny Day Real Estate

·       Includes all new artwork & design approved by Jeremy Enigk

·       Will be pressed on 2-180g vinyl LPs at Record Industry in the Netherlands and come in a gatefold tip-on Stoughton jacket with photos from the sessions



The Fire Theft was an alternative rock band from Seattle formed in 2001 by vocalist/guitarist Jeremy Enigk, bassist Nate Mendel and drummer William Goldsmith; all previous members of Sunny Day Real Estate. Mendel plays bass for the Foo Fighters and Goldsmith drummed for them between 1995 and 1997. Similar to Sunny Day Real Estate’s last album, The Rising Tide, The Fire Theft released their self-titled debut album on Rykodisc on September 23, 2003. A tour promoting the album followed the release. There have been on and off discussions between band members about reactivating The Fire Theft but the band has been on hiatus since 2004, with no official announcement of a break up. Following the reunion of Sunny Day Real Estate in 2009 with all four original members, the future of The Fire Theft remained uncertain. In addition to the self-titled debut, the band also released the Hands On You EP in 2004 on Rykodisc as well. Given 41/2 stars by AllMusic, Johnny Loftus writes, “Enigk and co-writer Goldsmith (whose inventive percussion unifies the album) freely cross Yes with Modest Mouse (“Oceans Apart”), approach Presence-era Led Zeppelin with their instrumentals, and embrace a classic, unironic sense of melody with “Chain” and “Heaven.” ROG is issuing the worldwide debut of The Fire Theft on vinyl, with music spread across a 2LP set that also includes brand new artwork.


Track Listing:

Side A

1 Uncle Mountain 4:03 

2 Waste Time Segue 1:02

3 Oceans Apart 4:16

4 Chain 3:43 

Side B

1 Backward Blues 2:47

2 Summertime 4:02

3 Houses 3:15

4 Waste Time 4:15

Side C

1 Heaven 4:13

2 Rubber Bands 4:01

3 It’s Over 4:02

4 Carry You 4:22

Side D

1 Sinatra 14:49