Get ‘Em Before They’re Got!
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image


Bill Frisell


Price as configured: $0.00

Be the first to review this product

This product can also be purchased in 401 of our stores.

Bundle Includes:

Nashville   +$36.97
Nashville Cover Art   +$0.01

* Required Fields


Artist: Bill Frisell
Title: Nashville
Config/Selection: A / ROGV-026
Units per set: 2
SRP: 36.98
Release date: 11/9/18

* First time this classic Bill Frisell title is available on vinyl!

* Mastered for vinyl from the best possible source by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound

* Pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Industry in the Netherlands and comes in a deluxe gatefold tip-on Stoughton sleeve with never before seen photos.

* Limited to only 3000 copies worldwide


Bill Frisell is an American guitarist, composer and arranger that grew up in the Denver area. He studied guitar with Johnny Smith at Northern Colorado University and then with Jim Hall and Jon Damian at the Berklee College of Music. Frisell’s first major break came when guitarist Pat Metheny had to miss a recording session and recommended Bill to Paul Motian who was recording Psalm for ECM Records in 1982. Frisell eventually became ECM’s in-house guitar player. His first solo release was In Line on ECM in 1983. Soon after, he moved to New York and forged a partnership with John Zorn and his band Naked City. He also became known for his work with Paul Motian’s trio, along with saxophonist Joe Lovano. In 1988, Bill moved to Seattle, where he has been ever since. In the early 90s he released two of his best-reviewed albums: Have A Little Faith and This Land. He disbanded his trio by the mid-1990s and began to incorporate more elements of bluegrass and country music into his work. His friendship with cartoonist Gary Larson led him to provide music for the TV version of The Far Side.

Nashville is Bill’s ninth album and his first to be recorded in Nashville, TN. The album was recorded at Sound Emporium September 1995–Novemeber 1996 and released April 29, 1997 on Nonesuch Records. It features performances by Viktor Krauss, Jerry Douglas, Ron Block and Adam Steffey, with guest appearances from Robin Holcomb on vocals and Pat Bergeson on harmonica. The All Music review by Jason Ankeny gave the album ★★★★★, saying “the record is both genuine and alien—while played with real affection for the country form and without any avant posturing, its sound is original and distinct, a cinematic variation on C&W tenets.”

After 21 years, Run Out Groove is finally making this genre-bending classic available on vinyl. Mastered for vinyl by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound, this 2LP set will be pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Industry and come in a beautiful gatefold Stoughton tip-on jacket.

Track Listing:
Side A

1 Gimme A Holler 5:05

2 Go Jake 4:27

3 One Of These Days 4:51

Side B
1 Mr. Memory 3:59

2 Brother 6:03

3 Will Jesus Wash The Bloodstains From Your Hand 3:09

4 Keep Your Eyes Open 3:30

Side C
1 Pipe Down 6:50

2 Family 5:22

3 We’re Not From Around Here 4:22

Side D
1 Dogwood Acres 5:28

2 Shucks 4:15

3 The End of the World 3:32

4 Gone 2:00