Lunapark Deluxe (black vinyl)

Lunapark Deluxe (black vinyl)

SKU: #081227883027
3.5 out of 5 Customer Rating

Get em' before they're got!


Tentative street date: 1/20/2023 

  • First time Luna’s classic Elektra debut will be available on vinyl in the U.S.
  • Expanded to include previously unreleased pre-Elektra demos
  • Album was pressed once overseas and is pricey on the secondary market
  • Features deluxe packaging, never-before-seen photos and be individually numbered to a one time pressing
  • Exclusive color edition of only 2000 units available only on the website


Luna is an American band formed in 1991 by singer and guitarist, Dean Wareham after the break-up of Galaxie 500. Described by Rolling Stone as “the best band you’ve never heard of,” Luna combine intricate guitar work, traditional rock rhythms and poetic lyrics. The earliest edition of the band included drummer Stanley Demeski and bassist Justin Harwood (Demeski formerly of The Feelies and Harwood from The Chills). The original line-up was expanded with the addition of guitarist Sean Eden for their second album , 1994’s Bewitched. Lee Wall replaced Demeski on drums in time for 1997’s Pup Tent, and Britta Phillips of Ultra Baby and The Belltower, joined when bassist Harwood departed in 2000. In 1991 after the end of Galaxie 500’s US tour supporting the Cocteau Twins, Dean told his bandmates Damon Krukowski and Naomi Young that he was quitting the band. He then signed a demo deal with Elektra Records, where their VP of A&R, Terry Tolkin, was impressed and Wareham signed a deal with Elektra eventually assembling a new band. Dean first contacted Harwood, whom he met while Harwood was with the Chills and they recruited drummer Byron Guthrie, formerly from Ultra Vivid Scene. The trio recorded demos (produced by Dave Fridmann) and played a series of live dates with Mercury Rev guitarist Grasshopper. Guthrie was replaced by former Feelies drummer Stanley Demeski and this line-up recorded the band’s first album, Lunapark, produced by Fred Maher and released by Elektra under the name  Luna² to avoid confusion with a new-age musician known as “Luna.” Shortly after the release of Lunapark, the band placed an advertisement in the Village Voice for a guitarist, and Canadian former drama student Sean Eden was recruited. The new four-piece recorded a number of cover versions that would become the Slide EP, and then toured the US. In mid-1993 the band supported the reformed Velvet Underground on their European tour, after which they recorded their second album. Bewitched was recorded in New York City and co-produced by the band with Victor Van Vugt. Velvet Underground guitarist Sterling Morrison played guitar on two tracks. The album was released in 1994. In 1995, the band went into Sorcerer Sound studio in New York City with producer Pat McCarthy and engineer Mario Salvati to record their third album Penthouse. The album featured Television guitarist Tom Verlaine on the tracks "Moon Palace" and "23 Minutes in Brussels." The album was released in August 1995 to critical acclaim, with Rolling Stone declaring it one of the essential albums of the 1990s. The album featured a cover of Serge Gainsbourg's "Bonnie and Clyde" as a hidden track; the song featured Lætitia Sadier of Stereolab duetting with Dean Wareham. "Bonnie and Clyde" was released as a single in the UK and was named Melody Maker single of the week. Pup Tent followed in 1997. In 1999, the band recorded The Days of Our Nights for Elektra, but the label declined the album as "not commercially viable" and dropped the band.[3] The record was ultimately released on Jericho Records in the US. Prior to the album's release, Justin Harwood left the band, and was replaced by Britta Phillips. After releasing Luna Live (2001), Romantica (2002) and Rendezvous (2004) with their new line-up, Luna announced their final tour (at the time), disbanding after a show at the Bowery Ballroom on February 27, 2005.Dean Wareham and Britta Phillips continued on as the duo Dean & Britta, initially formed in 2003. In 2017, Luna announced two new releases, a Luna covers LP, A Sentimental Education, and a 6-song original instrumental EP, A Place Of Greater Safety, with a tour of Spain in October and a North American tour in November 2017. Since then, Luna has been touring around the United States and Europe.


Track Listing:

Side A

1 Slide 4:19

2 Anesthesia 3:40

3 Slash Your Tires 4:46

4 Crazy People 3:35

5 Time 2:04

6 Smile 3:05

Side B

1 I Can’t Wait 2:42

2 Hey Sister 3:41

3 I Want Everything 4:25

4 Time To Quit 3:04

5 Goodbye 2:25

6 We’re Both Confused 3:54

Side C

1 Anesthesia (Fun City Demo) 2:31

2 I Can’t Wait (Fun City Demo) 2:39

3 Time (Fun City Demo) 2:13

4 Crazy People (Fun City Demo) 3:25

5 Slash Your Tires (Fun City Demo) 4:27

Side D

1 Slide (Toxic Shock Demo) 2:38

2 Time To Quit (Toxic Shock Demo) 3:08

3 Hey Sister (Toxic Shock Demo) 3:00

4 Goodbye (Toxic Shock Demo) 2:34

5 Egg Nog (Mixolydian) **bonus track 2:00